NZTM Newsletter

All the latest NZ breeding, racing & sales news.

Events Calendar

Racing Overview


New Zealand boasts a unique range of racecourses, with 52 courses scattered throughout the country, operated by 63 racing clubs. These vary from the

internationally acclaimed Auckland Racing Club's Ellerslie Racecourse, to provincial once-a-year courses such as Kumara that are very much part of the country's rich heritage.

New Zealand races all year round, usually 4-5 days a week with in excess of 3,000 races run each year. Highlights on the racing calendar include Auckland Cup week, conducted in March and the Summer Festival of Racing.

New Zealand races for in excess of $50 million in prize money and has 145 Group & Listed races, including 22 at Group 1 Level.

Horse racing in New Zealand is administered by New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Inc. All betting in New Zealand is conducted through a pari-mutuel system (TAB), with a percentage of each bet being returned to the racing industry.

Click Here to download the New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing Fact Book.